Edmonton Oilers basic person Connor McDavid wins Hart Trophy as NHL’s MVP

Edmonton Oilers forward Connor McDavid, shown Dec. 19, 2016, becomes only the second player in the 97-year history of the Hart Trophy to win it unanimously. File Photo by Bill Greenblatt/UPI

Edmonton Oilers ahead Connor McDavid, shown Dec. 19, 2016, becomes most productive the 2d participant in the 97-year history of the Hart Trophy to place it unanimously. File Photograph by Bill Greenblatt/UPI | License Photograph

June 29 (UPI) — Edmonton Oilers basic person ahead Connor McDavid on Tuesday received the Hart Trophy as the Most Helpful Player in the NHL, turning into factual the 2d unanimous winner of the award in its 97-year history.

McDavid positioned first on all 100 ballots from the Loyal Hockey Writers Association to place up for Wayne Gretzky as unanimous Hart Trophy winners. Gretzky received the award unanimously in the 1981-82 season, furthermore as a member of the Oilers.

Toronto Maple Leafs heart Auston Matthews garnered 69 2d-build of dwelling votes and carried out 2d in voting to McDavid. Colorado Avalanche basic person Nathan MacKinnon resulted in third.

McDavid furthermore received the Ted Lindsay Award as the NHL Avid gamers Association’s most eminent participant. Matthews and Pittsburgh Penguins heart Sidney Crosby had been totally different finalists for the Lindsay Award.

“My teammates are all the pieces,” McDavid stated. “I truly would not be wherever with out them. … We had a totally different neighborhood this year and clearly we did not elevate out what we wished to raise out, but silent so relaxing to be a allotment of and safe Edmonton and the fans of Edmonton furious all every other time for what’s to come support.

“Clearly impossible with out [my teammates] and so fortunate to be allotment of a huge neighborhood.”

McDavid, who captured his first Hart Trophy in the 2016-17 campaign, led the NHL with 105 aspects (33 objectives, 72 assists) in most productive 56 video games this season. He’s the 2d Oilers participant to place the award multiple events, becoming a member of Gretzky, who received it in eight consecutive seasons.

Simplest of basically the most productive.

Connor McDavid is your 2021 Hart Memorial Trophy Winner! #LetsGoOilers— Edmonton Oilers (@EdmontonOilers) June 29, 2021

In totally different awards voting Tuesday, Vegas Golden Knights goaltender Marc-Andre Fleury received his first Vezina Trophy as the league’s top goalie. It became the main time he had been nominated for the admire after 17 seasons in the league with the Penguins and Golden Knights.

Fleury became named on 30 of the 31 ballots and earned 14 first-build of dwelling votes from the NHL’s well-liked managers, who vote on the award. Andrei Vasilevskiy of the Tampa Bay Lightning carried out 2d, whereas the Avalanche’s Philipp Grubauer became third.

Recent York Rangers defenseman Adam Fox received the Norris Trophy as the NHL’s simplest defender, beating out Cale Makar of the Avalanche and Victor Hedman of the Lightning. Fox acquired 40 first-build of dwelling picks, and Makar had 31.

Minnesota Wild winger Kirill Kaprizov topped Dallas Stars ahead Jason Robertson and Carolina Hurricanes goalie Alex Nedeljkovic for Rookie of the Twelve months honors. Kaprizov recorded 51 aspects in 55 video games, at the side of 27 objectives, to receive the Calder Trophy.

Related Articles

Back to top button
%d bloggers like this: